D-Tool has features to lock projects, project items, change orders, POs, Tasks, etc. But no options to lock BOM items automatically.
Feature Request: When an item is placed into a PO and sent to a Vendor, the BOM item should automatically lock for checks and balances purposes. This will prevent the designer from deleting/replacing an item that was already ordered inadvertantly and provide them with checks and balances to note to the ordering team that items on POs will be affected and potential RMAs will need to be generated. Then designer can then manually unlock the item to make their changes.
Use Case:
We have had issues on long term projects where an item will be ordered and sometimes received, a change order, weeks or sometimes months later, is created and those items get replaced/deleted and the ordering team isn't made aware of the changes so we have mismatched inventory and picklists vs project BOM. Often we have also seen multiple change orders that affect the same item or package more than once so it begins to compound the problem if the ordering team isn't synced up.
While we do have custom layouts for ordering that show item order status, there is room for human error as these fields aren't on the regular designer layouts and once the items are replaced/deleted and the CO approved, it's not so straight forward to determine if something needs to be cancelled or returned from an ordering standpoint.