Skip to Main Content
D-Tools System Integrator Ideas Portal
Status New
Created by Eric Kalpakoff
Created on Oct 13, 2026

Several 'item locking' feature requests

This has been a constant issue as a SI user since 2006. Users constantly inadvertently update the catalog from the items they have customized from within their project. They edit the item in their project and click save and close and click through the update to catalog window. For some reason it's built into out DNA to not slow down, read, and click with purpose on these pop-up windows. The box could literally say "Click OK to burn down your house" and they would click 'OK' because it's a pop-up dialog box.

Yes, we are aware that you can set SI to not prompt when you close the item editor, and we have that set to 'Never' currently. It was worse when this was set to prompt, but it's not the whole issue.

When a users deliberately makes changes to an item and DOES want to update the catalog, the selected 'fields' to update are, by default, all checked. So they inadvertently update things to the catalog that should not have changed.

Request 1: If the 'fields' check boxes only pre-checked the fields that were updated, that would go a long way.

Request 2: We would also like to be able to lock an item in the catalog once it has been managed/audited/approved. It would be nice to have several locks for descriptions, margin, labor types and hours, accessories, and custom fields. So users could push some changes back to the catalog, but the important company standards that are locked could not be changed from their project.

Request 3: Add a permission that does allow a user to edit an item, but only from the catalog and not from their project. This would still allow the user to make deliberate permanent changes, but prevent project specific changes from being set to the item.


  • Attach files